Zgard - Black Metal, Pagan Metal, Doom Metal - Schwarzdorn Production - Label / Mailorder

Go to content

Zgard

ZGARD

The decision to form ZGARD was taken by Yaromisl in autumn 2010. At this time, he was finishing the recording of Goverla’s second album, which, due to various reasons, he decided to release under a new name. The quest for a name wasn’t long: ZGARD is a synonym for an “amulet” in the culture of Huzuls, an ethno-cultural group who for centuries have inhabited the Carpathian mountains. Yaromisl wears such Zgard from the time he obtained one in the Carpathian highlands and until now.

The ZGARD debut album, “The Spirit of Carpathian Sunsets,” was intended to be released in 2011, but the release date eventually shifted to 2012. In recording this album, Goverla’s flutist Hutsul took part, who recorded parts of woodwind instruments. The album includes not only the songs written for Goverla, but also a new track which gave a title to the album and formed a concept and the style of ZGARD: atmospheric black metal with strong influence from Carpathian folklore and a pagan outlook.

Without wasting any time, Yaromisl worked on the next songs for a second album, “Reclusion,” which was released in January 2012, even earlier than the debut. In 2013, the third opus, “Astral Glow,” was released, but activities didn't slow down: ZGARD took part in a split CD, “Ascension: Paramatman,” with Romanian band PROHOD, which was released in February 2014. Work then began on a new album.

The landmark year for ZGARD was 2014 when Yaromisl decided to shift from synthetic to live-recorded drums. With a guest drummer and vocalist the album “Contemplation” was released in June 2014. Right after the release, Yaromisl started to work on a new opus “Totem” dedicated to Veles, and ancient Slavonic god of sorcerers, which was successfully released in 2015. Two years later the newest work “Within The Swirl Of Black Vigor” was finished and released in 2017.

In 2019 Yaromisl finished the recording of his seventh studio album with the title „Place of Power“. ZGARD created eight fascinating epic pagan black metal songs. With „Place of Power“ the band has reached the next level in their band history and the album will be released in 2021 via Schwarzdorn Production.

ZGARD is truly a remarkable phenomenon in the Ukrainian metal scene. Geographically located far from Ukraine’s music centres, like Kharkov and Kiev, Yaromisl managed to create his own unique style. Is it the nature of the Carpathians, or residence near the mountain Bogit, where a Zbruch Idol (9th-century Svetovid sculpture and one of very few monuments of pre-Christian Slavic beliefs) was located, which so influenced Yaromisl to create the music of ZGARD?

Either way, the result speaks for itself!
 

Line-Up:
 
Yaromisl – Vocals, Bass, Guitars, Keyboards
 
Dusk - Screaming Vocals

Lycane - Drums
 

Releases:

2021 DIGI CD "Place of Power"
(Epic Pagan Black Metal)


2017 CD "У вирi чорної снаги (Within the Swirl of Black Vigor)"
(Pagan Black Metal)


2015 CD "Totem"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2014 CD "Созерцание (Contemplation)"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2014 Split CD "Ascension: Paramatman"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2013 CD "Astral Glow"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2012 CD "Reclusion"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2012 CD "Spirit of Carpathian Sunset (Дух Карпатських сутінків)"
(Pagan Black Metal)
© by Schwarzdorn Production 2021
Back to content

Zgard - Black Metal, Pagan Metal, Doom Metal - Schwarzdorn Production - Label / Mailorder

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt

Zgard

ZGARD

Die Entscheidung ZGARD zu gründen, traf Yaromisl im Herbst 2010. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt beendete er die Aufnahmen des zweiten Albums für die Band Goverla. Diese Aufnahmen sollten aus verschiedenen Gründen unter einem neuen Bandnamen veröffentlichen werden. Die Suche nach einem neuen Bandnamen dauerte nicht lange, ZGARD. ZGARD ist ein Synonym für ein "Amulett" in der Kultur der Huzulen, einer ethnokulturellen Gruppe, die seit Jahrhunderten in den Karpaten lebt. Yaromisl trägt einen solchen Zgard, seit er dieses Amulett im Karpatenhochland erhalten hat.

Das ZGARD-Debütalbum "The Spirit of Carpathian Sunsets" war für 2011 geplant gewesen, wurde aber erst im Jahr 2012 veröffentlicht. Bei den Aufnahmen des Debut Albums bekam Yaromisl Unterstützung vom Flötist Hutsul, von der Band Goverla. Er spielte Teile der Holzblasinstrumente ein. Das Album enthielt nicht nur die Goverla geschriebenen Songs, sondern auch einen weiteren neuen Track, der dem Album einen Titel gab. Außerdem verlieh dieser neue Track auch ein Konzept und formte den Stil von ZGARD. Atmosphärischer Black Metal, mit starken Einflüssen der karpatischen Folklore und einer heidnischen Einstellung.

Ohne Zeit zu verlieren, arbeitete Yaromisl bereits an neuen Songs für das zweite Album, "Reclusion", dass im Januar 2012 veröffentlicht wurde. Es wurde durch die Verschiebung des Debut Album vor dem eigentlichen ersten Release veröffentlicht. 2013 erschien das dritte Werk, „Astral Glow“. Auch nach dieser Veröffentlichung ging es mit den Aktivitäten der Band direkt weiter und ZGARD gönnte sich keine Pause. ZGARD arbeitete an einer Split-CD mit dem Titel „Ascension: Paramatman“ mit der rumänischen Band PROHOD, die im Februar 2014 veröffentlicht wurde.

Das wegweisende Jahr für ZGARD war 2014, als Yaromisl beschloss, von synthetischen, zu einem live aufgenommenen Schlagzeug zu wechseln. Mit einem Gastschlagzeuger und Sänger wurde im Juni 2014 das Album „Contemplation“ veröffentlicht. Unmittelbar nach der Veröffentlichung begann Yaromisl mit der Arbeit an einem neuen Opus „Totem“, das Veles und dem alten slawischen Zaubergott gewidmet war und 2015 erfolgreich veröffentlicht wurde. Zwei Jahre später wurde das sechste Werk „Within The Swirl Of Black Vigor“ fertiggestellt und 2017 herausgebracht.

2019 beendete Yaromisl die Aufnahme seines siebten Studioalbums mit dem Titel „Place of Power“. ZGARD schuf acht faszinierende, epische, sowie heidnische Black Metal-Songs. Mit „Place of Power“ erreicht die Band das nächste Level ihrer Bandgeschichte und das Album wird 2021 über Schwarzdorn Production veröffentlicht.

ZGARD ist wirklich ein bemerkenswertes Phänomen in der ukrainischen Metalszene. Geografisch weit entfernt von den Musikzentren der Ukraine wie Charkiw und Kiew, gelang es Yaromisl seinen eigenen einzigartigen Stil zu kreieren. Ist es die Natur der Karpaten oder die Residenz in der Nähe des Berges Bogit, wo sich ein Zbruch-Idol befand (eine Svetovit Skulptur aus dem 9. Jahrhundert und eines der wenigen Denkmäler vorchristlichen slawischen Glaubens), die Yaromisl so beeinflusste, um die Musik von ZGARD zu schaffen?

In jedem Fall spricht das Ergebnis für sich!

Line-Up:
 
Yaromisl – Vocals, Bass, Guitars, Keyboards
 
Dusk - Screaming Vocals

Lycane - Drums

Veröffentlichungen:

2021 DIGI CD "Place of Power"
(Epic Pagan Black Metal) 21.05.2021


2017 CD "У вирi чорної снаги (Within the Swirl of Black Vigor)"
(Pagan Black Metal)


2015 CD "Totem"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2014 CD "Созерцание (Contemplation)"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2014 Split CD "Ascension: Paramatman"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2013 CD "Astral Glow"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2012 CD "Reclusion"
(Pagan Black Metal)
2012 CD "Spirit of Carpathian Sunset (Дух Карпатських сутінків)"
(Pagan Black Metal)
© by Schwarzdorn Production 2021
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt